26th August, 1994: James’ last tie was on elastic but this is serious stuff for junior school.

School tie-1 (FILEminimizer)“A house full of children and the chimney sweep came. In idle moments I was typing up transcriptions of Wills. I had some peace in the evening babysitting at Rowena’s and read my books on being a Sunday School Pathfinder Leader. It was a hectic weekend firstly Staithes to clean the cottage and Sunday we were making coffee at the morning service for 80 and I was singing at the evening informal service. Mum and Dad were here for lunch too. It had been an early start as James’ friend Philip was on our doorstep to play at 7.40 a.m. Today I ended up with a swollen mouth. James was asleep in our bed and we all woke up when he hit his head on my mouth! He said he had a headache all day because of it yet it didn’t stop him jumping about and shouting! I took all my charges to Leconfield play park for a change. In the afternoon our curate came round to see me about Sunday school and Alexa and James were fully occupied in the kitchen ‘cooking’ with chocolate! Whilst I was cleaning up the sticky mess afterwards Alexa was teaching James how to ‘tie a tie’ for when he starts Junior School.”

About theonlysallyg

Formerly Sally McDonald. I was born in the village of Eye near Peterborough in 1953. Lived in Crowland until I was nearly 3. My school was John Mansfield Secondary Modern School for Girls at Dogsthorpe. I completed a 2 year Commercial Course at Peterborough Technical College and my first job was at Peterborough Town Hall in the Town Clerk's Department. I left there after 4 years for Cardiff. I met my future husband there and moved with him to his home city of Birmingham. After 5 years we moved to East Yorkshire and we're still here.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment